New Story Appearing Soon!

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted regularly. There’s been a book review here and there, a repost even less seldom. Nothing about my own writing in ages. Why is that?

Not a lot to report, to be honest, and what there was, was rather depressing. I mean, do you really want to hear about the twenty-five rejections I’ve received in the last year? Yeah, me neither.

But! That drought has come to an end! I’m very excited to say (announce, yell from the highest peaks) that my story “Chlorophyll Is Thicker than Water” has been accepted for publication! And, oh my, I am thrilled about where it’s going to appear.

“Chlorophyll Is Thicker than Water” is a tale of two elderly, Japanese-American scientists who live in Vermont and research plant intelligence. It is going to be one of fifteen short stories about woman scientists that make up To Shape the Dark, a new anthology (and sequel to the award-winning The Other Half of the Sky) edited by Athena Andreadis and scheduled for release next spring.

Ms. Andreadis released the official Table of Contents yesterday and I’m pleased to share it with you.

Athena Andreadis – Introduction: Astrogators Never Sleep

Constance Cooper – Carnivores of Can’t-Go-Home
M. Fenn – Chlorophyll Is Thicker than Water
Jacqueline Koyanagi – Sensorium
Kristin Landon – From the Depths
Shariann Lewitt – Fieldwork
Vandana Singh – Of Wind and Fire: Descent
Aliette de Bodard – Crossing the Midday Gate
Melissa Scott – Firstborn, Lastborn
Anil Menon – Building for Shah Jehan
C. W. Johnson – The Age of Discovery
Terry Boren – Recursive Ice
Susan Lanigan – Ward 7
Kiini Ibura Salaam – Two Become One
Jack McDevitt – The Pegasus Project
Gwyneth Jones – The Seventh Gamer

That’s quite the group of award-winning and nominated writers, and I am thrilled to be among them, especially since this my first pro-market sale. I can’t wait to read what everyone else has come up with for this collection, and I hope you’ll join me. To whet our appetites, our editor has also posted the openings to all these stories on her blog. Check them out! It’s going to be hard to wait for spring.

Categories: Books/Authors, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “New Story Appearing Soon!

  1. Congrats!

Blog at WordPress.com.