Monday Morning Music

So, I considered myself a Grateful Dead fan (never had the teddy bears on my car, so technically not a deadhead?) long before this song came out, got huge, and the dreaded word “sellout” was being bandied about.

Touch of Grey” came out in 1987. I was living in deadhead central at the time: Oakland, CA. Got to see the Jerry Garcia Band play at the Stone in San Francisco while I was there, as well as the Dead (my only time) at the In Concert Against AIDS show they put on at the Oakland Colosseum in 1989. The Bay Area was an amazing place for experiencing live music.

Anyway, I’m still fond of this video. I especially love the dog. And yes, I have the grey vinyl single.

… and the baby boomer/gen X theme rolls into another week.

Categories: Monday Morning Music, Music | Tags: , , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Monday Morning Music

  1. I’ve been on a huge Dead kick lately, listening to a lot of shows from. 77 to 79 (listening to Cow Palace right now). It’s not something that most would suspect of me, coming from the hardcore /punk/ straightedge scene, but hey, that’s the way it goes.

    • Heh. I never would have suspected. Although Tolkien and the Dead do kind of go together. 😉

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

