Tuesday Afternoon Music

I’m on vacation from my day job this week, so everything’s happening whenever it happens. That’s why this week’s music video is today. Hope y’all don’t mind.

I’ve been listening to a lot of punk lately and refreshing my brain on the history of it all. One band that’s crossed my path recently is the New York Dolls. Many folks tend to call the genre they played in “proto-punk.” I guess that makes sense. Nobody really came up with “punk” as a name until NYD had released a couple albums. Prefixes like that make me twitch, though. “Post-punk” drives me nuts as a genre, for example. Well, anything with “post-” attached to it just cries “lazy” and “marketing” in big bold letters to me. Why not call something what it is instead of pretending it’s something different by adding “post-” to it so you can sell whatever you want to sell? The punk movement and punk philosophy never went away. (kinda how feminism hasn’t gone away in this “post-feminist” world, you dig?)

Anyway, I thought I’d share some New York Doll goodness with you today. They freaked out a lot of people when they arrived on the scene back in the early ’70s. Here they are on Old Grey Whistle Test in 1973 performing “Jet Boy.”

 

Categories: Monday Morning Music, Music | Tags: , , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

