Monday Morning Music

I was listening to a mix cd from 2008 while I was editing yesterday; one of the songs was Lila Downs‘ “Ojo de Culebra” While I was enjoying it, I wondered if one of her videos might work for MMM.

It didn’t surprise me to discover that yes, one of them would. Here she is with a song from her 2011 cd Pecados y Milagros, “Zapata Se Queda.” She’s joined on the track (and in the video) by singer Totó la Momposina and accordionist Celso Piña. Zapata, of course, is the martyred Mexican revolutionary, Emiliano Zapata. According to an NPR interview, Downs was inspired by a recurring dream in which his ghost visited her home.

Español: Emiliano Zapata

Emiliano Zapata (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I really like this song and think the video’s beautiful. It has a wonderful sense of color and the imagery is great.

Categories: Monday Morning Music | Tags: , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Monday Morning Music

  1. This is a beautiful video!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

