Monday Morning Music

Just for grins, I paid a visit to Wikipedia to see who was celebrating their birthdays today. I was pleased (and a little amused) to see that September 10 is both David Lowery‘s and Johnny Hickman‘s birthday. I love me some Cracker, so to be able to wish both of these guys a happy birthday on my blog made me smile. Instead of Cracker, though, I’m going with a song off of David Lowery’s solo album from last year, The Palace Guards. Hickman plays guitar on the cd, too.

“Deep Oblivion” is one of the album’s many quiet, introspective tracks and one of my favorites. It reminds me a lot of Imagine-era John Lennon. “Jealous Guy,” to be specific. What David Lowery/Cracker/Camper van Beethoven songs do you like?

Happy Birthday, guys!

Categories: Monday Morning Music | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Monday Morning Music

  1. Chris Willie Williams

    Ooh! I hadn’t noticed the “Jealous Guy” vibe before, but that is a good comparison!

    I think this is my favorite Cracker song. From what I understand, they used to use it as a counterintuitive concert opener. It’s so warm and spacious.

    • I think I figured out Jealous Guy on the second or third listen. Something like: 1st listen sounds like Lennon, 2nd something from Imagine, 3rd Jealous Guy, that’s the one. 🙂

      That’s a lovely Cracker song. I love that they do stuff like that–counterintuitive concert openers.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

